Exodus 23:1

Okay so I woke up this morning and saw Exodus 23:1 trending on twitter. I was so excited in my mind I’m like “Yay, a Bible verse is trending on twitter. And it’s not John 3:16 lol. That’s so cool. The Word is getting out there”. Seriously. I was so happy!

So I click on the trend and the first thing that comes up is something about a Pusha T diss track. I was so confused.

After doing some quick research I realized that Pusha T made a diss track (that is supposedly in reference to Drake), and he titled it Exodus 23:1. Now there’s apparently going to be beef/war between the two labels (G.O.O.D music and YMCMB).

The scripture that he cites reads “Do not spread false reports. Do not help a wicked man by being a malicious witness” and I guess that’s what he’s basically talking about in the song. However, I couldn’t help but think: Is this blasphemous? 

Yea, it’s probably going to cause some people to go find their Bibles to see what that scriptures says and it may spark some positive discussions but is it right? The track is laced with profanity, negativity, and drama. Why are we bringing scripture into this?

On the flip side, the Bible stands as THE truth and THE authority. What better way to express your feelings than to search the scriptures? He’s not taking the verse out of context.

Or is he?

I don’t know what to think. Nothing is sacred anymore.

Leave a Reply

